Picture
As I was thinking about what to write about this week, I first struggled. I could not remember what I had specifically done this past week, although I knew it was a busy one. As  I focused on the blur that was this past week I realized I had been  to a lot of events, in fact  I had been to an event everyday this week, sometimes twice in one day. I realized I needed to document this in my latest blog post- to not only  share my experiences with others, but preserve my memories.  Here are the events I attended this past week:

Monday
How to Make Blogging Pay @ The National Press Club
In a spur of the moment decision I attended an event at the National Press Club. My friend and I arrived pretty early and chose a seat in the front row.  The discussion that proceeded was one of the most lively, heated, and crazy panel discussions I have ever been apart of. The  conversation quickly turned to the collapse of journalism, which sparked outrage by those journalists present. I found this panel  memorable because it made me aware of the sad truth  about the sad  difficulties our generation faces. Old trademark professions, such as journalism are no longer the same, and we must expand our skill set and knowledge to be successful professionally

Tuesday
Twosomes & Two Parties - Talking Pairs:  Mark Chester and Norm Ornstein @Busboys and Poets

On Tuesday I had the pleasure of enjoying a great dinner with a great discussion  that included author,  Norm Ornstein. Norm wrote a book that I was assigned to read in my policy class.  I enjoyed hearing his brash statements about the Republican party in person.  To my surprise the down fall of  journalism occurred again in conversation!  I came away from the event still thinking and stuffed with delicious sweet potato fries and cherry pie.

Wednesday
Lunch with Senator Joseph Tydings@ The Washington Internship Institute
Former Senator Joseph Tydings  was a close friend to  the late President Kennedy. For a little over an hour I was delighted to hear about  his past adventures on the campaign trail. I could have listened to his stories all afternoon . His excitement and first hand accounts made for a lovely lunch with a remarkable man

Thursday
From Foreclosure to Fair Lending: The Pursuit of Equitable Credit Show Embed Code Widespread @ The Center for American Progress
At an event offered at the place of my internship I learned of the harsh world surrounding 
discriminatory and unethical lending. The discussion got heated an passionate as this issue is prevalent and effects individuals deeply. Those affected spoke out.  I was genuinely scared, hurt, and concerned as this issue is massive in its negative consequences. I was glad CAP  brought attention to it.


"Event" @ Georgetown University
Alright, on Thursday I was suppose to attend an event that my supervisor invited me too. The night ended with me getting hopelessly lost and on the campus of  Georgetown University. Finding myself in this situation I toured the school with my friend,  grabbed a delicious snickers latte, and enjoyed the change in plans. Attitude is everything people, just go with it. As I said to Shannon,  "We are lost...Surprise!"

Friday
Brown Bag @ The Center For American Progress
I will keep this brief as  I have previously explained several brown bags. This one was especially special because I received some advice that resonated with some deep inner thoughts of mine. The advice was, "Working on a campaign is getting your masters in Political Communications." Those were some some pretty powerful words for a student on the fence about Grad School.  I have a lot to think about  in the next coming years.

I hope you enjoyed my weeks activity. I certainly learned a lot now that I look back at it.


Caitlin Murphy
12/16/2013 11:33:04 pm

What a week you had indeed. I truly enjoyed this short recap and how diversified the events were for you. I think you should share this post on our Facebook wall to let all new and perspective WII students know what it this experience is all about. You are also correct in your statement: "Attitude is Everything." I think that is the tagline of your experience here huh? I am so proud of you!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.