Picture
Time is passing by entirely too fast  in D.C. This past week I would have to say that I wasted no time in taking advantage of  what the city has to offer.  Not only was it a busy week with events, but it was also Veterans day weekend. DC is definitely the place to commemorate the holiday. I channeled my inner tourist once again in visiting Arlington Cemetery and the National American History Museum.  
 
With my internship at The Center for American Progress it comes
with the opportunity to attend awesome events, something I wanted to make sure to take full advantage of while here. This past week I attended both a brown bag with a Senior Cap Fellow Sam Fulwood, and a lecture on immigration and youth. Brown bags are casual lunches where interns can interact with professionals regarding their experiences. The environment is ideal for questions and conversation. This was my second brownbag  at CAP, the first brown bag with
CAP's Public Lands team. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was easy to stay engaged with such a transparent and interesting speaker. The brown bag reminded me of an informational interview, just with twenty or so more people participating.  I have already RSVP'd for next week’s upcoming brown bag. 

Another event presented by CAP that I attended was a lecture on Immigration and youth, which took place at the NYU (DC campus.) This event stood out to me because it was not just strictly academic, I was a mix of both personal storytelling and data an analysis. Hearing the first hand testaments from actual undocumented people, coinciding with the emphasis for a pathway to citizenship was especially memorable.

An additional event outside of my internship was at the Brooking Institution. On the panel was my professor, Dr. Hudak. The topic was projections for the 2014 Elections. I was very much looking forward attending an event and Brookings. The topic was both relevant of my current interests and I was able to see my Professor speak impressively on a panel.  The place was crowded and diverse,  I almost wished everyone had to wear nametags with their affiliation. I was very pleased with the Brookings Institution- their professionalism and importance as a think tank.

As mentioned prior, this Veterans day weekend I was able to visit  Arlington Cemetery and the National American History museum. The Cemetery was especially moving. During the changing of the guards  ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Veterans participating in honor flight were in attendance as well.  I will admit my eyes watered as I heard  the taps playing and the Veterans looking on.  I would like to express my deep appreciation for all Veterans, past, present , and future. On Sunday I attended the National American History Museum. Selfishly, I really just wanted to see the exhibit with the first ladies  inaugural dresses but I was impressed by so much more. Between Dorothy's red ruby slippers, Kermit the Frog,  Abraham Lincolns top hat, or the flag that inspired the star spangled banner- I am not really sure where I acted the most nerdy. My dear friend Shannon was very enthusiastic about Harry Potters' robe from first year. :) I really appreciated the place. I
can check that off my endless list of places to go while here in D.C.

This past week was a crazy busy one, but I know I have to continue making an effort to use all available resources.  I only have a little more than a  month to go here, and I cannot wait to share whatever may come next in this ever busy city.




Robin Curran
11/11/2013 10:24:53 am

Nicole,

I have heard of brown bag lunch events before but I have not yet attended one myself, so thanks for sharing! And that immigration panel you attended sounded great. You definitely get a different perspective on the issue when you hear it from the people who are most affected by it. Glad to hear that you are enjoying CAP and making the most of every minute there!

Robin

Reply
Naomi Mekeel
11/18/2013 12:25:57 pm

Your busy week sounds like it was lots of fun! About the immigration panel, were the undocumented people that spoke that day in danger for speaking out? That may be a naive question but I am genuinely curious.

Reply
Nicole Andolina
11/18/2013 02:46:45 pm

Hi Naomi!

Thanks for your comment. To answer your question to the best of my ability I would say- yes, these undocumented people who speak out are danger. Despite their advocating, and public image, technically, they are not legally citizens. This unfortunate situation put one of the advocates (who spoke in the panel) in a tight spot, when her mother and brother were almost deported due to their lack of documentation. In my opinion some kind of reform needs to happen.

Reply
Caitlin Murphy
11/21/2013 07:19:31 pm

I really believe you are taking advantage of so many touching opportunities! You reflect beautifully and I am so excited for all that you are doing. Thank you for sharing!

Reply



Leave a Reply.