Picture
In an effort to share my academic experiences in addition to my personal ones, I wanted to take a portion of my blog to discuss gun policy in America. In light of recent shootings, I decided to write an academic paper for one of my classes regarding gun control. As the week progressed, and yet another shooting occurred (this time in New Jersey ) I thought it was important, as well as relevant to share a portion of my academic paper with others. It begins:

Historically, Americans have witnessed and dealt with tragedies such as Sandy Hook, Columbine, Fort Hood, Virginia Tech, Aurora, and the D.C. Navy Yard shootings (just to name a few). The debate on gun control needs to be seriously dealt with before further misfortunes occur. With so many tragedies, it becomes necessary that reforms regarding gun control on a national scale should be implemented. Real change regarding gun policy in the United States can be achieved by revising failed legislation such as the Manchin-Toomey Amendment, halting harmful rhetoric from both conservatives and liberals, and finally more mental health awareness and resources on a national scale.

Instead of copy and pasting my  academic paper verbatim I wanted to briefly describe my assertions in reference to gun control.  First, I critiqued a piece of legislation that was  not passed due to gridlock and bipartisanship in Congress (The Manchin-Toomey Amendment). I proposed that similar legislation be pushed forward in an additional effort to pass any sort of comprehensive gun control bill. This can be done through my second point- reducing the harmful rhetoric of politicians that contribute to the lack of legislation that is passed. With the pressure of voters, and those affected by gun tragedies this could be a viable option. The voters are getting sick of the  government's "tricks" Lastly, improving mental health awareness and treatment is the key to gun violence prevention, in my opinion.

A startling truth is that young Americans are becoming desensitized to gun violence. The shootings that occur, although absolutely horrifying, are not surprising—this should be a wakeup call. American gun
culture needs to change. Gun violence should not be a cultural norm.  I believe that legislation on a national level needs to be enacted in an effort to prevent the preventable, and save the innocent. Government officials bury your hatchets and work towards the greater good of the American public’s safety. 

This blog may not be my most upbeat and exciting, but it is an extremely significant ad relevant issue that needs to be dealt with sooner than later. To transition entirely, it was Halloween weekend! One of the better costumes I have had was as a secret service agent (pictured above). The surrounding environment along  with our creativity brought a lot of smiles. I realize this blog post was  very diverse in its topics but I hope you enjoyed  in my sharing of my academic  AND personal experiences.




Leave a Reply.