Being in the Thanksgiving Spirit it would only be appropriate that I express what I am most grateful for. I titled this blog post, “ The Top Ten Things I am Selfishly Grateful for While here in D.C.,” because I will be citing what I am most grateful for that make life easier, not the necessities, but the little luxuries D.C. has offer. I will do so with the slightest mix of seriousness, satire, and humor.

1. The "Good Days" on the Metro.
The metro offers its fair share of benefits, like not needing to pay for gas or insurance. I am specifically grateful for the days where there was little to no time to wait for a metro car. The days where there are seats aplenty and minimal a weird person. The days where your conductor says, "Thank you for riding metro rail and you think, “thank you, thank you metro rail.”

2. An Infinite Number of Panel Discussions on a Weekly Basis
If you think for one moment while here in DC, "I am bored," you are lying! I am grateful for the stimulating and educational conversations that are always in infinite supply. The topics are endless, and the conversations almost always lively. If you want to go to one every day of the week, totally possible- been there done that.

 3. Hors d'oeuvres
Coupling with panel discussions I of course have to express my deep gratefulness for the hors d'oeuvres. Thanks to many an event I now have a pallet for cheese, crackers, and chicken kabob skewers. For a student these hors d'oeuvres have taken the place of many a dinner - and for that I am grateful.

 4. Is this a Street Corner or the Metropolitan Opera House?
Being in DC there are certain musical street performers that I truly look forward to listening to. Whether it be the violinist playing classical, or the man playing Amazing Grace on the Steel Drum- I love it all. However, I am most grateful for my favorite musical performer. He is a small Latin man who plays the Spanish guitar beautifully and looks absolutely miserable.  If you want to see his face completely light up give him a donation for the musical favor he is doing you, you will never regret it. I am so grateful for him and will miss him dearly.

5. The Daily, “Good Morning" Yell
At 8:30am every morning, a homeless man would greet me as well as everyone else on their morning commute with a big, “GOOD MORNING." I am so grateful for his warm and friendly presence.  Although life had not been easy for this disabled man, he took the time to brighten everyone's day. I cannot help but smile when I see him. I do not see the man anymore, as I commute, as the weather is colder but before, when I saw him every morning he greeted me with, “Good Morning Smiley!"- and I am grateful for that.

 6. Lunch Break at the White House- Because I Can
Weather permitting, I would either eat lunch or take a walk to the White House during my lunch breaks. Even moving internships mid semester, I just moved even closer to the White House than I was before.  The area is super pretty and interesting, just thinking about the history of the place made me so happy. Never mind the million tourists, and obscure protesters, I have been grateful to soak it all in.

 7. Thai Food Delivery
Delicious Thai Food delivered right to my apartment door. Done. Grateful. Always.

 8. Yoga Pants!....Never
I am grateful for the forced yet much appreciated and needed requirement to look professional and polished at all times. Looking back at last semester it was a special occasion if I wore my nice jeans. Looking professional every day is a good lesson in the importance of appearance. Look better, do better....at least until I get back to school.

 9. Excel is my Friend
Excel is daunting for someone who has had very minimal experience with the program. If you want to make something of yourself in this world become proficient in it! I have a long way to go before I say I am en expert, but I have some experience  with it now, and I am grateful.

 10. Mentors
To end more seriously, I would like to express how grateful I am for the many people who have extended their time and expertise in helping me along the way. Thank you to both peers and teachers.
Caitlin Murphy
12/16/2013 11:36:06 pm

This post is also awesome- how fun and witty! Please share this on the WII Facebook wall:)

Reply



Leave a Reply.