Picture
When I look back at my experience in Washington DC I
will proudly be able to say that I lived here in a historical time (not exactly the best of times) but still a very historical and culturally significant time. I am alluding to the events that occurred on Tuesday September, 24 -the day that the government shut down. Although the last government shutdown did not occur that terribly long time ago, it is still very substantial. Being in DC during this time has given me a very interesting perspective. I would like to share my observations of the government through the lens of a student and citizen, specifically, a non-federal employee living in the DC area.  Looking back at my time here I want to be able to remember my thoughts and experiences regarding this not so great, but still thought-provoking
event.

First, I would like to share that a week before the shutdown I was confident in predicting that our government leaders would not turn their back to the American people. Therefore, a government shutdown would not occur. However, the night before the event, pessimism set in and I was convinced the government would in fact shut down. I personally blame party polarization and immature leaders with a personal agenda. When the shutdown officially happened I definitely was not sure what exactly was going to follow immediately.  I soon learned that federal employees would be deemed essential or non-essential and many would be furloughed.  On a personal level, I acknowledge that the shutdown has not (or at least not yet) directly affected me. Thankfully, the only inconvenience I have had to cope with is the inability to attend the National Zoo.  Despite the lack the shutdown affects me, I am still upset about it. I am truly concerned for those who are being negatively impacted financially.

 The commentary surrounding the shutdown hs proven especcialy fascinating. It has been very interesting to not only hear the perspectives of my classmates regarding the shutdown, but also friends and family from around the U.S. When people hear the word “shut down” I imagine people think that DC is in blackout mode, the streets are deserted, and there are tumbleweeds rolling down Pennsylvania Ave.  I understand how his experience can be confusing.  I myself am still trying to figure out the entire scope of the situation. If people here in America are considerably confused I cannot imagine what people in other countries are thinking. The misconceptions regarding the shutdown are only furthering anger towards the government.  Some transparency and clarity need to be rectified in this situation, at least for the American people

The whole process of the government shutting down has been pretty disenchanting for me, especially as a Millennial. If the government was having a hard time keeping in touch with young people before, a bunch of old men bickering over American's livelihood have definitely not improved that relationship. As someone who is interested in campaigns I can only imagine what tactics campaign managers are going to use to convince the American people to vote for their candidate again. Recently, I inquired to a congressional staffer (that I have the privilege to correspond with) of her opinions on the shutdown. She was extremely frank, asserting that that this was in no way acceptable behavior by the U.S. government. She herself was deemed non-essential and predicted that this could be over the 17th, when Congress has to deal with the debtceiling. I admired her frankness, but her apparent disappointment and frustrations were definitely a hard thing to hear form such an insider.

So as I write this while watching the sun  set over the pentagon,  I can only imagine what is to
come next. I hope that there will soon be resolve. I feel as though the American people are frustrated,
and I know that my generation, the millennials, will not soon forget the dysfunction and
detached relationship we currently have with ourgovernment.


Brian
10/13/2013 07:57:01 am

It's interesting to see a different take on the shutdown, and it helps to spur more discussion in our class with us all being affected different ways. It is important that you understand the cause and effect relationship this shutdown will have on young adults, especially those in our age group who have a disconnect from government.

Reply



Leave a Reply.