I sometimes have to remind myself that yes in fact I am both a
student and intern in Washington, D.C. For a while I have known that this was
something that I truly wanted to do. I knew I wanted to live and study in our
nation’s capital, but to actually be here after the anticipation, applications,
and interviews is a completely separate feeling that is sometimes hard to
believe. Before my internship or classes even started I can confidently say that
my peers and I took full advantages of our surroundings, exploring all corners
of the city.

National Sculpture Garden , National Gallery, U-street,  Jazz Concert at the
National Sculpture Garden, National Monument Night walk, Nation Air and Space
museum, African American Civil War museum, it is  hard
to believe how much we have accomplished in one Labor day weekend.  I
was able to watch fireworks from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial! I am still
not over the excitement of that.  The experiences from this past week have
only heightened my excitement and expectations of what my experiences will come
to be here.

I am so grateful to those who have helped me get to this
point-the Washington Internship Institute, those at my home institution of
Nazareth College, and of course my parents. I have so much to say in the next
coming months; I look forward to sharing information regarding my internship at
Mobilize.org, my classes, and my adventures. So in the end, why did I come
 here? I came to D.C. because I believed this was the place to get an 
 incomparable experience, and if things keep going as awesome as they have been
 so far, I will be proud to say I picked exactly the right
place.

Caitlin Murphy
9/9/2013 11:40:42 am

Nicole, I can feel the energy in the post! Thanks for sharing all of the details of your time here thus far, and as you have said, you will have lots to say, I cannot wait to read it all. I will look forward to you providing more personal reflection throughout your posts!

Reply



Leave a Reply.