Picture
Alas, at the end of this week I will head home to the cold and very snowy city of Syracuse, NY  and leave DC behind. The experience has been more than I could have ever imagined. Whether in the classroom, my internship, or out and about, lessons were learned and perspective was gained.

While taking classes here in DC,  I have had the pleasure of meeting new people with varying experiences and backgrounds. I am happy to have met so many people who helped positively shape my stay.

Looking back to this semester, who could have ever guessed I would be able  to be a part of two internships. My time at the Center for American Progress, although brief, has been most memorable. I enjoy so muc learning about different policy and contributing in whatever ways I can in terms of research.  I will be sad to go, but so incredibly happy for the experience.

On the last Saturday  night I spent  here  in DC  I  convinced my friends Catherine and Shannon to bundle up and head out to the National Mall for our last memorial night walk before we headed out. Shortly after leaving, we realized how truly cold  it was and decided we would only be visiting the Lincoln memorial.  Shivering, but  on a  mission, we arrived.  After taking pictures, and asking one of the few people their to take out picture we were just about set to head back to our apartment. At this time, a  couple approached us asking to have their picture taken. My roommate Catherine, gladly accepted, after a few shots she went to give back the camera.  Before she had the chance to give the camera back the man quickly said, " wait, I'm going to propose." The look on all of our faces was priceless.  As he kneeled on one knee Catherine got a lot of awesome shots of their special moments, right there on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial. It was a lovely Saturday night, that I will definitely always remember.

DC was a blast, but it  time  to move on to the the next phase. It is in one way the end of things, but also the beginning of things in so many other  ways. 

p.s. I aim to maintain my  blog as long as permitted, plus  I  have to explain how my tour at the White House goes this  coming Friday!






Kate Mitchell
12/9/2013 11:38:23 am

Nicole! I loved reading about the impromptu Mall trip and then the proposal! That sounds super awesome, and a unique way to end this experience. I'm glad you want to continue your blog as well.

Reply
Caitlin Murphy
12/16/2013 11:38:33 pm

Please do continue!

Reply



Leave a Reply.