Picture
This week in my seminar course I had to complete 
a strategic plan assignment. The task is a way to research one’s professional goals and interests, while brainstorming the necessary education and experience to work towards a desired job or career. For me, this assignment conjured major emotions of anxiety and excitement.

Professionally, I am most interested in
campaigns, congressional staffing, and nonprofits. Being in DC and talking to experts in all three of these areas have taught me that the steps to pursue these professions are anything but concrete.  However, I have observed one major theme that always is advised to me. this to be proactive, and network as much as
possible.   In all honesty I did not understand the hype surrounding networking when I first arrived in DC, but networking is EVERYTHING. Every professional I have met here
has earned their position through successful networking. Thank goodness I have business cards! While making my strategic plan I kept networking in mind, as I
realize it will have a big impact on my professional future.

I organized my strategic plan with a time frame of three years.  Before even starting I had set  ideas that I was
certain of. Upon my research I  was genuinely surprised of the other academic and proffesional options I have available to me. For example, upon my research of AmeriCorps I found that I am  am seriously interested in the program, and with careful preparttion could beocme a reality. The  plan forced me to make decisions and think about things that are not always comfortable. After listing my dream grad schools I was forced to research schools outside of my interest.  By doing this, I found schools I had never given a thought of previously. The plan opened my eyes to new possibilities, while at the same time maintaining an organized plan of action.

I find strategic planning very helpful. On the journey to my desired careers who knows what else could come my way? I am trying to stay as determined as possible in pursuing my  professional ambitions, all the while
trying not to freak out too much.  Short term (the next few months) I plan to conduct more informational
interviews and tour grad schools in the area.

On another note, this week I had the privilege of attending the Robert F. Kennedy Book and Journalism Awardsat the Newseum.  Besides hearing about remarkable people and their stories, I also had the chance to meet Natalie Morales from NBC news. I am a very big fan of her and her work, as proven by my nerdy excitement when introducing myself to her.  I was so excited to meet her I just started talking about how big of a fan I was, completely forgetting to mention my name  (no worries though I had a nametag and she made sure to address me by my name). Also in attendance was Kerry Kennedy.  I was thrilled to be able to pay respect to Robert F. Kennedy and all he stood for; the awards ceremony was yet another experience that made me love this city even more.


Caitlin Murphy
9/30/2013 12:38:00 pm

Excitement+Hard Work+Networking=Success... You have all the necessary ingredients and each week I am so excited to learn about all of your successes. Keep it up. Your career path has so many exciting opportunities!

Reply



Leave a Reply.