Besides taking classes in D.C I also have the pleasure of being an intern
at a nonprofit known as Mobilize.org. This is an organization that specializes
in implementing solutions to social problems for the millennial generation
(young adults born between the years 1976 and
1996).  The organization was founded in 2002 on the University of Berkley
campus by David B. Smith. He and his fellow peers successfully blocked an increase
in tuition that would have made it no longer possible for many students to  attend
the University anymore. From there the organization was born. According to the
official website, “Mobilize.org has grown into an organization that harnesses
the unique attributes and passion of the Millennial Generation to identify and
address problems of concern to society, and provide Millennials with resources
needed to implement solutions". I remember reading this statement while I was
deciding to apply for this internship, and remembering it really resonating.
This is an organization that I can firmly stand behind as I passionately agree
with the importance of their mission.

I serve as the program and special events intern, which in my
understanding, covers a variety of different projects and tasks. I first arrived
at a very busy time for the organization, as they were preparing for a summit
in Philadelphia. Summits are a time where the organization presents a unique
process of “problem solving and collaboration to various communities around the
country". I was very impressed and excited by my supervisor’s enthusiasm for the
Summit event. It was apparent of my supervisor’s investment in the success of
the event. I was privileged to help with the little things in order to prepare them.
From packing folders to packing up the vans, I was happy to have helped  in some way.  

Unfortunately, I was unable to attend the summit
itself, but that does not mean I do not know of the events that happened. After
the event, I was able to learn about the programs, speakers, and events that
occurred.  I have only been there a week, and I still have
so much to learn about the inner workings of a nonprofit.
However, I have had to the chance to research other nonprofits and brief my
supervisor, collaborate on ideas for a new events, and set up an informational
interview (which I am SUPER excited about).

One of the best moments I have had so far was my orientation. My
specific requirements for this internship include signing up for a grant writing
class through the Foundation Center. The center is a nonprofit itself that
helps those interested and apart of the nonprofit world buy offering things such
as classes. Additionally, I have to book a community service project, blog, help
develop a fundraiser, make a presentation, and conduct an informational
interview. My supervisor ended my orientation with the question of what we
wanted to get out of this internship. Not only that, she stressed about how
much she truly cared we benefit from this experience. I hope for great things
from this internship, the environment seems one of encouragement and passion. I
look forward to sharing more of my experiences; this is still the very beginning
of things.

9/16/2013 11:38:18 am

It looks like you'll be learning a lot about non-profits. I'm excited to hear that you already have history working with grants, as it is a skill that will make you stand out from other individuals. You really should have mentioned the protest though. Great post!
-David

Reply



Leave a Reply.